Summertime Chili In The Instant Pot

It was 86 degrees here today and I needed a dinner that would not heat up the whole house since we do not have air conditioning. I love using my Instant Pot on days like these because I can pressure cook a dinner in under 10 minutes. Sometimes I take un-cooked white rice pasta, tomato sauce, ground beef, and water and have spaghetti in 5 minutes!

Today I wanted to use up summer vegetables so I made a chili! This recipe uses zucchini, onions, and peppers which you can use from your garden! IMG_3959First I set the IP to “Saute” and browned 2lbs of ground beef.

IMG_3960

After the beef was cooked I added zucchini, onion, peppers. I then added one 15oz can of organic plain tomato sauce.

IMG_3961

Since I used 2lbs of beef I then added a large can (28oz) of organic diced tomatoes.

IMG_3962

Next comes the bone broth. I had chicken bone broth on hand but you could use beef too. You can check out my video “how to make bone broth” here.

IMG_3963

I then stirred everything together and added chili powder, pink salt, pepper, and garlic powder. You can add any spices that you like to use when making chili.

After all of the ingredients are in the pot select “Manual” and set the time to “10 minutes”

IMG_3965After the 10 minutes are up you can release the pressure and open the IP. I wait to add fresh herbs until after the pressure cooking is done. For this chili I added parsley.

IMG_3969 copy.jpg

Add a big heap of organic sour cream and enjoy! and hey look: only ONE pot to clean! Oh and just ignore the little voice in your head asking why you are heating a hot bowl of chili on a 86 degree day 😀

Ingredients:

1-2 cups zuchinni
1-2 cups peppers
1 medium onion
1-2lbs ground beef
1 cup bone broth
1 15oz can plain tomato sauce
1 28oz can diced tomatoes
Spices such as chili powder, cumin, onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper, ect..
Fresh herbs like parsley

  1. Set Instant Pot to “Saute” and cook ground beef.
  2. Add all ingredients to IP
  3. Select “Manual” and set to 10 minutes
  4. Use natural release and stir in your fresh herbs

EDIT: Oh yeah, you may be wondering “where the heck are the beans!? This is chili afterall.” I can’t tolerate beans that have not been traditionally prepared and soaked with water and whey overnight. Since I did not have any already soaked I just omitted that part! But please feel free to add presoaked and precooked beans to your chili.

Leave a Reply

